How bad do you want it?

I have always been interested in the term “success” and what it means to an individual. As a concept, it is incredibly broad but also incredibly vague. Now, you might be thinking I am contradicting myself by this, but I’ll explain what I mean.

Success is a broad subject as it can take multiple shapes and forms as well as being of different magnitudes. To a student, a success might be rolling out of bed to make that 9am seminar whilst for an employee, a promotion will be a success. Success can be considered to be determined on an individuals goals and circumstances; as a result, success is subjective. Due to this subjectivity, success is a vague concept with different approaches from different angles.

What surprises me about people is when asked about what is a successful life is that the answers seem limited. A well-paid job, good education, husband/wife and kids? That seems to be the limit of what people want to achieve in life; as a result, I’d say most of the world’s population is not satisfied with the level of success they have achieved in their lives (I might be very wrong).

So how do you go about achieving success? Well during procrastination to my exams in January, I came across an old youtube video called “How bad do you want it?”, a motivational speech to help people pursue their goals and dreams ( I will put the link for this at the bottom). “if you want to succeed as badly as you want to breathe, then you’ll be successful” shows that to be successful, you need to be desperate. I’m not saying to suffocate yourself but I think this has a deeper meaning of giving up something in order to gain in the future. But it makes a fair point, if you want something, you’ve got to go out there and get it.

Leave a Reply

